Good times

Yesterday, I did what I rarely do: I watched the habs game in its entirety. And I’m glad I did that, because it was a great game. It started awfully though. I only arrived home during the first period, and just as I started watching, the habs were stuck in their own zone by the Rangers forechecking, they couldn’t clear the puck, and some Ranger immediately scored. Less than 5 minutes later, NY scored again. It was 3-1 Rangers, and I really felt like I jinxed the habs.

But the remaining of the game was MUCH more fun to watch. As you probably know, Cammalleri got a hat trick, and the habs prevailed in OT.

Here is, in no particular order, what made me happy yesterday:

– Beating the rangers is always fun.

– Obviously, the first line. Cammalleri is on a nice streak, Gionta keeps on being awesome, and Gomez… well, he’s playing good too, even if I don’t always notice him. (I wonder how long it’ll take me to fully accept him as a hab. It’s weird).

– Chips. He had a very good game, and a lot of people noticed him. He even got some praise in the coach postgame interview. I hope he’ll stay with the habs this season, and prove he can be a good NHLer.

– Bergeron. I just liked his goal. Because other than that, he really isn’t making a great impression on me so far…

– Jacques Martin. It’s a little tough to assess the work of a coach, so here I’m pretty much just relying on what I feel. But I like the way he explains his choices, and the players seem to be answering well to what he’s asking.

– The team’s character. That’s one of the things I like the most about the 2009-10 habs: they’re not quitting. Guys like Gionta, Cammalleri, Moen seem to have changed a lot of things in the team character. The habs are still a work in progress (last night’s first period showed that), but even when they’re in trouble, they fight to keep the game close. It’s a real change from the teams of the last few seasons. A welcome change.

– the time change in Europe. It’s now wintertime here. So we got an extra hour of sleep last night (well, I spent it watching hockey, but still). But most importantly, it means that until next week (I think), I’m now only 5 hours ahead of the Montreal time zone. 7pm games will start at midnight! Woooo! I love when that happens.

Mystery at Saint Lazare Station

(This sculpture is in front of Gare Saint Lazare, one of Paris’ train stations.)

Posted October 25, 2009 by Grrrreg in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

