Habs of 2008-09: Tom Kostopoulos

There is absolutely nothing interesting going on right now with the habs. So to keep the blog alive, I thought I would start a little series about the many familiar faces we won’t see around next year. To be honest, given the current state of the blog, and my lack of time and motivation to write about the habs right now, I’m not sure that I will actually cover all of the habs who left Montreal this year, or even that I’ll write another post in this “series”. But whatever.

I decided to start with someone I really liked: Tom Kostopoulos.

What I liked about you:

Your name. Kostopoulos. Seriously, that’s one of the best names in the nhl. So close to Rastapopoulos, the unforgettable villain from Tintin…

rastapopoulos

But of course that’s not all. Like everyone, I liked your work ethic, and your great attitude during the  two seasons you spent in Montreal.  Carbonneau once said he’d like to have 20 Kostopoulos on his team. Well, that’s maybe one of the reasons why he didn’t end the season behind the bench, but that was a nice comment. And it spawned this nice little photoshop on hfboards:

kostoteam(I’d like to credit whoever did this, but I just know it emerged on hfboards…)

What I didn’t like about you:

Your hands of stone.

What I’ll miss about you:

Your always surprising and delightful fighting techniques.

kosto fights

What I won’t miss about you:

Your fighting record…

A Kostopoulos moment I’ll remember:

There are actually several moments to remember. Firstly I just learnt that you were chosen to be the Grand Marshal of the Hellenic Community of Montreal in 2008. (Thank you wikipedia!) This is a pretty awesome accomplishment. You may not have a letter on your sweater, but the title of Grand Marshal is way cooler in my opinion. Suck it, Kovalev and your “A”!

Then of course, there is the purse incident in Tampa, where you were arrested with O’Byrne after the Rookies dinner. Good times.

But I’ve chosen something else, a little less flashy: an empty-netter that you scored against the Kings, in Los Angeles, in March or April 2008.  It wasn’t a crucial game. It wasn’t even a special goal. But I remember it because it was against your former team, and you looked so thrilled. I still love this picture:

kosto

Wooo!

Thank you Tom, and good luck in Carolina.

Posted July 19, 2009 by Grrrreg in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

