The joy of bandwagoning

habs-undead

Habs are undead… so far.

Since I buried their season, the habs are undefeated in regulation. They won 4 of the 5 games they played, collecting 9 out of 10 possible points. The Tanguay-Koivu-Kovalev line  scored 27 points in those games (Kovy alone has 6 goals and 5 assists…), the power play is scoring again and again (10 goals in 5 games), the goal differential obviously looks good (+11), and the goalies are both playing well.

So they are clearly trying to make me look stupid. And well, it works : I look like an ass. Thank you, jerks. What can I say? I’m now a bandwagon fan. I gave up on my team, and I’m jumping back on the bandwagon now that they’re winning again.

Sue me.

Seriously, it irks me a little, because one of the reasons I started this blog is because I didn’t like the drama of a large part of the habs coverage in the media and on the internet. It’s always heaven or hell, “plan the parade” or “disband this fucking team”, and so on and so forth. And I thought I could be a little different. I thought because I live far away, I could write my blog with a little distance. But I learned it’s way more difficult than it sounds… And yeah, I’m not better than anyone else. When the habs win I’m happy, and when they lose I’m cranky. Irrationally happy or cranky.

But well, I think that’s just what being a fan is all about, so that’s normal I guess.

~~~

Anyway, yesterday was a very important hockey night for Montreal. Two points against a very beatable Isles team, while the Rangers lost in regulation against Carolina. Perfect scenario. I hope the habs can do the job tomorrow in Toronto. This game is a sad reminder of the 2006-07 season finale, when the habs lost their final playoffs hopes in a crazy game at the ACC. I sure hope things will look better saturday. The Leafs will obviously try as hard as they can to ruin the Habs’ hopes, but I hope les glorieux will remember the humiliation of the last game against Toronto (yeah, the one which prompted me to bury their season), and play as hard as they can.

I won’t be around until sunday night, because one of my friends is getting married this weekend, so I won’t be able to follow hockey at all for the next two days. Have a nice week-end, and go habs go!

85327978BB001_MONTREAL_CANABeautiful pic by Bruce Bennett, found on Yahoo

Posted April 3, 2009 by Grrrreg in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

