Survival, part 2   4 comments

Tonight, the habs will have to survive in hostile territory.

Wait what? Hostile territory? But the game is in Montreal! They already survived in hostile territory last friday!

Well honestly, I think I’d be less stressed out if the game was in Washington. Habs are on a magnificent 6 game losing streak at home in the playoffs. They’ve played very well on the road but have been really crappy at home so far.

I know habs players keep on saying that the crowd is a huge boost in Montreal, but I think playing at the Bell Centre is really a double edged sword. It can provide a big spark, but I think it’s also a lot of pressure. In this series, Montreal fared very well when everyone expected them to lose, i.e. when the expectations and the pressure were more on Washington’s side. But when they were in a position to actually take the control of the series at home, they faltered a bit. Being the underdog road team can actually help, in a us-against-the-universe kind of way, and I think this is what the habs will be missing tonight.

Also, I think the caps were unfocused on friday, and I don’t see them having an off-night again tonight.

So realistically, I know I should prepare myself for the worse…

In case of a 2 on 1 with MAB on defense, brace for impact

And yet…. that’s not completely how I feel. In spite of everything, I’m still hopeful the habs can somehow prove everyone wrong and surprise the caps again.

I think if the Habs score first, everything is possible. Otherwise… well let’s not think about “otherwise”.

GO HABS GO!

Posted April 26, 2010 by Grrrreg in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

4 responses to “Survival, part 2

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I know I’ve only been able to see one Habs playoff game because of work and black out restrictions, but I’m glad last night was the one. Yes, I like Price and I would love to see him succeed, but last year, one of my biggest problems was that I didn’t think Halak was given a fair shot. So last night when the Bell Centre stood and cheered for him every time he so much as took a drink, my heart got a bit fuller.

  2. yeah Halak has been the feel good story for the habs this season. I’ve always had a soft spot for him (and now it’s much more than a soft spot), so it’s a pleasure to see him doing well and get lots of deserved praise for it.

    I only watched the game a few hours ago (and I managed to avoid seeing the result before), so I’m still buzzing with excitment tonight. I hope they can carry the momentum and the emotion to game 7.

    But no matter how this ends, I’ll be really proud of them. I LOVED the way this team played in the playoffs. They were outmatched for most of the first 6 games, but Martin was smarter than Boudreau so far and the Habs played with SO MUCH heart… I’m so in love with them right now. It’s the complete opposite of last season. :D

  3. As soon as the Habs game finished, I switched over to the Sabres game as there was 30 seconds left to play. Definitely a buzz kill. So I hope the Habs can do the same thing tonight and let me enjoy the victory for more than a minute!

    And I do think they can. Cause… The fucking Habs are winning this thing. I can feel it.

  4. I feel it too!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

