8 thoughts   7 comments

I just wanted to post a little something here. So here are some random thoughts that crossed my mind since I left you.

1. I loooooooooooove the Olympics so much. And not only the hockey part. It’s not very original, because everyone has been saying the same since it started, but I’m in love with watching random sports at random hours.

2. Sports I really enjoyed: Snowboard and ski cross. Fast paced, spectacular, really tense, and very easy to follow. Perfect.

3. Sports I really enjoyed, part 2: Biathlon. The fact that France won some medals there probably helped, but I’m fascinated by this sport. I’m amazed by the way these athletes are able to control themselves to shoot with accuracy at tiny targets, in the middle of their race. The concept of this sport is brilliant. Miss some shots and you have to do more skiing. But ski too fast, and you’re likely to miss some shots. Really outstanding.

4. Something that bothered me: The way people pretend not to understand curling, and make fun of that sport. Seriously, we know it’s a weird sport, we know it’s slow and odd. But pretending you don’t understand how it works is just ridiculous. It’s waaaaaay easier to understand than baseball for instance. (Or maybe that’s just because pétanque is a national sport here, and it’s basically the same concept, just not on ice. Baseball on the other hand… let’s just say it took me some time to figure it out!)

5. Hockey has been wonderful so far. One of the things I really liked about the hockey tournament: watching games that are not constantly interrupted by commercial breaks. And It’s getting even better tonight, with THE big game, USA-Switzerland. Just kidding. I’ll root for Switzerland, Finland (sorry Pleky), Slovakia (Go Jaro!), and I’m really torn between Russia and Canada…

6. Time zones blow, episode 3245478 : Tonight, Russia-Canada starts at 1.30am, Finland-Czech Republic starts at 4am, and Slovakia-Sweden at 6am… It’s going to be tough.

7. French announcers are butchering hockey names too: Ingila (and it’s not a slip, they say it that way EVERY time), Mowow (that’s Morrow), Tornton (to be fair, pronouncing “TH” with a proper English accent is a nightmare for most of us…). And I’m not even speaking of Russian or Scandinavian names!

8. Just because this is technically still a habs blog, go check this out: it’s a gallery of habs players drawn by children, posted on the Montreal Gazette website. They love their goalies in Quebec!

Carey Price by Cate Paterson, 8

(That’s an interesting concept of enlarged nets, by the way… :P )

~~~

Now just a last word, the issues keeping me away from the blog are still there, so I’m not sure when I’ll be back to posting more regularly. I hope things will get back to normal soon. Sorry I’m not more specific, but that’s a family thing, so yeah, that’s personal… See you soon!

Posted February 24, 2010 by Grrrreg in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

7 responses to “8 thoughts

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I know how curling works – I learn every Olympics and then I forget about it afterwards – and I still make fun of it. Mind you… I’ve been making fun of every sport I’ve been watching. Not in a mean way. I just… do.

    And that kid draws almost as good as me xD (or maybe it’s the other way around?).

  2. About curling, I don’t mind people making fun of it, it’s just that at some point last week, it looked like every single person on tv or the internet was pretending not to understand how this works just to sound funny. Meh. I don’t really care about curling, it’s just annoying when EVERYONE makes the same jokes about brooms and about this sport being incomprehensible, which I don’t really think it is.

  3. The scoring thing is kinda odd if you’re not used it. With hockey you put the puck in the net and you score. Easy. With curling it’s like you get points for every stone you have that’s closer to the whatever it’s called compared to the other stones or something. It’s like confusing at first :D Even baseball is easier…. XP

  4. About the scoring, it works just the same in pétanque. And pétanque is something probably every single French person plays at least once every summer. So yeah, that’s not weird for us!

    But no no no, baseball is more complicated. What’s with all the strikes, outs, balls, foul balls, walks, sacrifices, etc…? Baseball = complicated. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it! :)

  5. The objective of curling is very simple to understand. You can understand it just by watching without any explanation. It’s the strategies of the game that I don’t really understand. I want to try it sometime though.

    Yeah, no kidding, those Pacific times are terrible for you. Well, it’ll be worth it if you can go nocturnal for a while.

    The Switzerland game was awesome, too bad they didn’t pull off the upset. I look forward to seeing their 2014 team.

  6. I never ever heard of petanque before today xP Baseball is much easier to understand. The only problem is 99% of it is boring as hell…. =/

  7. Switzerland will be good, with Nino Niederreiter and Weber, if the NHLers are still allowed to be there. And Jonas Hiller will have more experience too.

    About pétanque (and I promise I’ll stop after this…), it’s fun because it doesn’t require any athleticism, you can play virtually everywhere, and the equipment is quite minimal: just a set of balls (Uh yeah, I know that sounds bad…) So it’s really the perfect summer pasttime. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

