Uh oh…

Watch out Carey!

Ugh, I just wrote an entire post, and firefox crashed at the moment I hit the publish button. Xdjhvâzbfrikzqxsdjkfsdtakerp!

Anyway, here is what I recall I just wrote.

Poor Habs. This is getting a little sad. Another game, another disappointment. They started awfully yesterday. Then there was the Price/Janssen incident. I loved it. For the record, I think it’s ok to bump into a goalie when he’s far away from his net (of course, I’m saying “bump”, I’m not saying “absolutely destroy him along the boards”). But then I also think it’s fair for the player doing this to expect to be jumped by half the goalie’s teammates. I don’t think what Janssen did was that terrible. He was coming fast to play the puck, and I don’t think he really could avoid Price. Price also had to know what was coming. But I loved Carey’s reaction anyway. His “he’s mine!” attitude when he dropped his gloves and tried to pull Hamrlik to get a piece of Janssen was memorable. Too bad the refs didn’t let Conklin go down the ice to get into this!

Unfortunately, this is probably the only thing we’ll remember about that game.

There aren’t many positives right now. Pouliot keeps on scoring. His line with Gio and Gomez is really working. Gomez isn’t worth all the money he’s paid, as we always knew, but he’s doing an ok job I think. And Cammalleri is having a nice little season. Other than that…

Sure, it’s nice that they got a point out of this, but this kind of effort probably won’t be enough to make the playoffs. It’s going to take a great finish to end in the 8 first spots. The habs are still a .500 team, with exactly 51 points in 51 games. They probably need around 40 more points in their last 31 games to make it. I’m not sure they have it in them.

It’s frustrating, because once more, it looks like a lost season. Not good enough to make the playoffs (or to have a serious chance, if they make it), but not bad enough to end up with a good draft pick. That’s the curse of mediocre teams. This is why the Panthers never really improve. They’re always stuck between the 8th and 12th spots. And it means you’re also stuck at the trade deadline. The habs can’t really be buyers (or at least I don’t think they should) because it’s not worth it. But they can’t really be sellers either. That would be officially giving up on the season, which is something Gainey probably can’t afford to do in the last year of his contract as a GM.

I know it’s too soon to throw the towel, because 31 games is still a lot. Maybe the habs will surprise everyone and prove me wrong. I hope they do.

But well, if they don’t, I guess we still have our fun Bulldogs to watch!

Posted January 21, 2010 by Grrrreg in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

