Wherein Grrrreg realizes he has no clue about the Habs   17 comments

It’s been a while since I’ve done a regular game preview. So I think it’s time to call back Shania to introduce us tonight’s opponent . By the way I hope you’re not already fed up with her because I found pictures of her wearing almost every nhl jersey, so this stupid gimmick is not about to end. Oh, and for the record, I’m not a fan of Shania. Not at all. Not in any way. Not even close. But I’m amused by her idea to wear local jerseys to please the home crowd. Anyway.

Game 11

Habs NYIThe Isles.

Again?

Yeah.

So according to RDS and Habs Inside Out, here are the lines that Martin used in practice:

Cammalleri-Gomez-Gio
Lats-Plekanec-Dags
Pacioretty-Lapierre-Moen
Stewart-Chips-Kostitsyn

Metropolit has the flu, so he could miss tonight’s game. I’m a little surprised to see Kostitsyn playing on the fourth line. I know he hasn’t played well so far this season, but I wonder how exactly playing on the fourth line with Chips and Stewie will help him to score goals. His ice time will probably be reduced, and no offense to Chips, who played a great game against the rangers, but he’s not Plekanec yet… I know the idea is to send Andrei a message, but  I’m not sure what the next step will be if he fails to score on the fourth line (and there’s a real possibility he will struggle with less talented players and a more limited role). Regarding Chips, it’s weird to see him paired with Stewie again. It didn’t seem to work earlier in the season, and he seemed more confortable with Latendresse.

Obviously, I’m not in a great position to guess what the optimal lines combinations are, and Jacques Martin has a tiny edge on me here: he’s actually coaching the Montreal Canadiens while I’m typing this on my laptop, 5 500 kms away. But still, he should clearly listen to me next time.

Also, apparently Halak is playing again tonight. I didn’t see that one coming. I understand the idea of playing the goalie that wins games, but it’s a little odd to bench your #1 goalie for 4 consecutive games. And you’d think a game against the Isles would have been a nice occasion to get him back on the ice. Because the next one is against the Pens in the Igloo, and it won’t be the easiest situation if Price has to play there. But we’ll see. And I guess there will be a LOT of discussion about this everywhere until then…

So to sum up: I’m surprised by the lines, and by the goalie choice. It must mean I know my team very well! I’m so smart…

monkey_typing

Grrrreg writes another great post about the habs.

(oh, and the title of this post is a small shoutout to the Ookies)

Posted October 26, 2009 by Grrrreg in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

17 responses to “Wherein Grrrreg realizes he has no clue about the Habs

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I was in West Virginia for all of Saturday night’s hockey. West Virginia isn’t even a good place for indoor plumbing let alone hockey. But the ESPN score sheet looked lovely.

    Tonight I’m back in Buffalo and just as I turn on the game, somehow the Islanders come back to tie it. I blame the fact that I have a framed Biron picture staring at me next to my tv.

  2. Nevermind! Pleks! Hamr!! Love it!

    And I’d normally totally agree about the goalie situation except I’m still bitter about last year when I thought there were a few times when Halak got hot, and they’d still bench him for Price, who would inevitably lose.

    (Was Pleks not wearing a turtleneck?!)

  3. Ooh, you have a framed Biron picture? I forgot he used to play for the Sabres…

    He played well last night, as did Jaro. Well both Jaros played well actually. It was fun to watch Spacek’s face after his goal, he was REALLY happy.

    I think I’ll write something about the goalies tomorrow (as probably 90% of habs related blogs, but wathever), because it’s too complicated to write about it in a short single comment…

  4. The bar I that I used to work in had a picture of Biron as a Sabre and I mentioned that I wanted it (jokingly). So some friends ended up stealing it for a going away thing.

    Spacek is a great guy to have on the team. I loved when he was one of the rotating captains two years ago because his interviews are great! Sometimes completely not understandable, but very passionate. :D

  5. Yeah, he’s a good character for sure. Exactly the kind of guy that makes a team likeable. And potentially a good source of material for silly bloggers…

  6. ^ That whole pigeon thing had me laughing like crazy….

  7. That’s weird, I was sure you knew this story already… I love it!

  8. I somehow missed it. I guess that’s what happens when you really don’t pay attention to the new guys coming in. My mom asked me the other day about Squishy and I just came up with blanks. I fail…..

    Oh well. That Pigeon thing is too funny XD

  9. We have an excuse when half the bloody team is new!

  10. Plekanec’s goal was wicked.

    But I’m glad Halak is playing. If Price is truly the #1 goaltender, then he has to work for that job. The push will help him. And if the Habs are to make the playoffs (and they seem intent on raising my hopes and convincing me that my pessimism was misplaced), they need to go with the goalie that’s playing better.

  11. You’re right. It’s not necessarily a bad situation to have two young and talented goalies fighting for starts, if it’s managed correctly by the team. But it could turn bad if the habs aren’t smart about it. I keep saying I want to write something about the goalie situation, I REALLY need to do it… :)

  12. Write something up! Or else I’ll draw stick figures :D

  13. A message posted in my fantasy hockey league:

    Since price started in the NHL, Carey Price has been about as good as Jose Theodore.

    2007-08

    Jose Theodore: 28 wins – 2.44, .910
    Carey Price: 24 wins – 2.56, .920

    2008-09

    Jose Theodore: 32 wins – 2.87, .900
    Carey Price: 23 wins – 2.83, .905

    2009-10

    Jose Theodore: 2.47, .922
    Carey Price: 3.36, .886

  14. Ouch!
    Well, fortunately Price is only 22 and he’s not paid 4,5 millions a year!

  15. OUCH….. =/

  16. Grrrreg, en anglais, we use decimals and don’t pluralize the number “4.5 million”. I’m just telling you because I find being corrected helpful.

  17. Oh thanks! Don’t hesitate to tell me again if you notice egregious mistakes. This blog is also a way for me to improve my English writing skills, so I don’t mind being corrected at all!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

