I know this is wrong   6 comments

… but I feel bad for Vesa Toskala.

There, I said it.

toskala

Posted October 14, 2009 by Grrrreg in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

6 responses to “I know this is wrong

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. …. I was about to say the same thing on my blog.

    You know something is wrong when the Habs fans are feeling bad for the Leafs……..

  2. Oooh no no no, I’m not feeling bad for the Leafs AT ALL. Just for poor Vesa.

    But you’re right, it’s weird to feel sorry for a Leaf. It just shows how good and exceptional people we are. Leafs fans wouldn’t feel bad for Carey or Jaro. :p

  3. Hmm yeah, I meant Vesa. There’s no way I feel bad for the rest of them… now THAT would be the end of the world or something like that.

    Oh well… I guess we’ll just have to be the uber cool people who feel bad for the enemy XD;

  4. Yeah, I tend to feel bad for goalies too sometimes and here in Toronto, with all the blame and shame, it’s pretty disgusting. I don’t like Ron Wilson calling out his goaltender and saying on camera several times “We could’ve used a save”. That doesn’t help. That doesn’t motivate him to squeeze his pads tighter or slide across faster. The problem is he is playing poorly, but more public embarrassment won’t solve the problem. That’s like trying to get out of a hole by digging.

    Mathias Brunet has a nice article today about Komisarek playing like garbage for the Leafs. I suggested we stop calling him le traitre and start calling him le saboteur.

    Anyway, with the Habs missing the playoffs this year, the Leafs being in shambles is hard to enjoy.

  5. Oh and should we feel bad for Huet? Does anyone in France other than you care about their pro ice hockey countryman? Or did they abandon him after the is-the-T-in-his-surname-silent-or-not debate? His situation isn’t very good. Mathias Brunet has a nice article on that issue too.

  6. Honestly, no one ever speaks about hockey around here. Especially in Paris. I know hockey is pretty big in some cities (Rouen, Reims, and mostly cities from the Alps like Grenoble or the Pyrénées) but I’ve almost never heard of Huet on national tv since he’s in the nhl. But I don’t feel as bad as I used to about him. This season, he has not so many excuses. He’s finally the undisputed #1 goalie somewhere, so it’s up to him to be good enough. He has a pretty good team in front of him too.

    Oh, and I don’t know yet about the habs missing the playoffs. So far, I’m not really worried about them. It was fair to expect a period of adjustment at the beginning of the season. Now of course, they have to actually make progress on this.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

