I can write gloomy stuff too   5 comments

booze-time-married-to-the-sea

www.marriedtothesea.com

I think that sums it up…

When it comes to sports, I”m usually optimistic, and sometimes even delusional. But these days, it’s really hard to remain hopeful about the habs season. I only watched half of yesterday’s game, and it wasn’t pretty.

Yes, the refs were bad. But I think it’s a stretch to blame them for the loss. The habs are losing games that they should be winning. You can’t lose against the sens, the isles, or the rangers when you’re supposed to be fighting for a playoff spot. Not this late into the season. I’m slowly coming to the realization that the habs may very well miss the postseason.

  • I hate to pile on Carey Price, but he was not good enough yesterday. Yes, he stopped breakaway chances, and he certainly didn’t get a lot of help from his defense, but he had a bad night.
  • The defense looks awful. I love him, but Komisarek is painful to watch (for the record, I still think Bob should re-sign him as soon as possible. He’s having a terrible season, but let’s not forget how good he can be)
  • The PP is pathetic.
  • Kostitsyn plays like shit, especially when he’s on the same line as Kovy.
  • They’re losing too many faceoffs.
  • Once again, the best line was Lapierre-Kostopoulos-Latendresse. By far. It’s cool that they’re playing good, but it’s sad that they’re the only ones doing so…
  • They can’t built any kind of momentum. Every time they scored last night (except the 4th goal), the Sens scored back in the next minute or so.

Beyond this season I’m starting to seriously worry that Bob will leave if the team doesn’t make the playoffs. If this happens, I think it would be a huge blow to the franchise. I don’t even want to think about it…

Boy, this post sucks, I’m sorry to sound so depressing. Usually, I let Mike Boone write the gloomy columns at HI/O after the habs lose, and I try to be funny or to speak about something else here, so that people are not inspired to slice their wrists after reading my blog. But the habs are really not helping me today…

Posted March 20, 2009 by Grrrreg in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

5 responses to “I can write gloomy stuff too

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh no! He’s cracked! The eternal optimist has cracked! Noooooooooo! Run for the hills!

    *ahem*

    Yeah, we’re doomed.

    But that’s okay. It’s just a game. I was really upset after the first period and I had to sit back and go “what the hell? this a game. I shouldn’t be so upset. I mean, yeah, it sucks that the Habs suck and we could be as bad as Toronto or worse by this time next year but damn it’s a game! I’ve got a life to live and I’m not going to spend it moping over my damn useless and crappy team.” Take a deep breath, relax and thank your lucky stars that you live on the other side of the world and not in Habsland.

    Oh and…. because it makes ME feel better… that third Sens goal was absolute crap. It was offside and highsticked in. It should have been disallowed. We could argue the point that if the Habs hadn’t gone down so quickly on such a crappy call they might not have felt like they had all be hit upside the head.

  2. what the hell? this a game. I shouldn’t be so upset. I mean, yeah, it sucks that the Habs suck and we could be as bad as Toronto or worse by this time next year but damn it’s a game! I’ve got a life to live and I’m not going to spend it moping over my damn useless and crappy team.

    I feel the same. In fact, thinking about it, I’m not even really upset. I’m actually strangely zen about the whole thing. I simply realized and maybe even accepted the fact that the habs have less and less chance to get out of their funk in time. And if they do, they probably won’t go very far in the playoffs anyway. At this point, the thing that bothers me is the risk of losing Gainey if things really turn ugly.

    Of course missing the playoffs would be disappointing, because as almost everyone, I let my hopes get pretty high after last season, and I would have liked to see this team make a serious cup run this season. But that’s certainly not the end of the world!

    And about that goal, I could barely see the puck on my crappy internet feed, so I can’t really comment on that! :) The referees were bad yesterday, but yeah, you’re not supposed to completely let the game slip away like that after one or two bad calls…

  3. That would be awful if we lost Gainey… I don’t want to go back to the dark ages again…. Gainey is no saint and he hasn’t been perfect, but then again, no GM is perfect. Compared to what we’ve been stuck with over the last 15 years, he’s the best thing we’ve got.

    And yes, I know that the Habs should have done better after those crappy calls….but like I said, it makes me feel better to diss the refs =)

  4. like I said, it makes me feel better to diss the refs =)

    I won’t argue with that, it can definitely help! Go ahead, it doesn’t really hurt anyone!

  5. The guys in the AHL make the idiots in the NHL look smart though… =/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

