Montreal lost. I don’t care.

Montreal lost in OT yesterday. I only watched the two last periods, and it wasn’t great. Especially in the third. 11 shots for the devils, 4 for the habs. At the end of regulation, I was actually relieved they managed to get a point out of this.

But anyway, I’m not gonna let this game depress me. There are things clearly more important than this loss:

200812050120_w350Miss France 2009

Miss France 2009 was elected last night, and I had a blast following it on tv. Of course, I know it’s a totally ridiculous show, but with some friends, pizza and alcohol, it always turns into an amazing night… So every year, we organize a little contest with some of my friends about this. We try to guess which one will fall in the stairs (Yesterday’s winner: Miss Guadeloupe). And of course, we try to guess the final rankings.

As always, one of the worst candidates somehow makes her way to the final 5. And as always, one of the highlights of the night is the guy who tries to motivate the viewers to vote, and appears before each advertising break. He’s a small bald guy with big glasses, he’s supposed to be in charge of the call center, and he’s invariably sweaty, very agitated, and amazed by the “historic” number of votes, and how tight the race is this year. I’m considering to launch a fan club on facebook.

presentateur-miss-franceBest TV guy in the world

So as usual, we weren’t disappointed last night. It was a solid show, with a great performance by the vote guy.

~~~

Another reason to feel good today: my soccer team, le FC Nantes, beat Lyon yesterday night. To  those of you who don’t care or know much about soccer (let alone french soccer), let me just say that I truly despise Lyon. They’ve won 7 championships in a row now, and I just can’t stand them. It’s the richest club in the league, and they win year after year, it’s an abomination.

As opposed to Lyon, Nantes is the loveliest club you could find. They’ve got a rich history, they have bright and unusual colors (yellow and green), a cute nickname (the canaries), and the tradition of the club was to play a fast paced, offensive and creative game, with lots of youngsters.

This is Nantes

But for the last few years, Nantes has been awful. They forgot everything that made them special. They were demoted two seasons ago. They climbed back to the first league last season, but they’re really struggling this year.

So when they win a game versus Lyon, nothing could depress me, really.

:)

Posted December 7, 2008 by Grrrreg in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

